Personal Interaction is Dying



Hello, may I speak with <your name>?

<Hmm, sounds like a telemarketing call> Speaking.

Hello, I am the HR manager for XYZ and after reviewing your résumé I would like to set up a time for a phone interview.

<I thought XYZ was around the corner from me> That would great.

When would be a good time?

In the computer/technology/smart phone age, have we lost the ability to interact with people face to face?  I know, there have been a million articles discussing this very subject, but I am writing another one.  This is from the perspective of the job search.

Technology has helped in the job search in more ways than I could list.  Primarily, the ability to search multiple job boards using defined parameters.  No more buying the local newspaper and circling ads.  We can easily find jobs in other cities, states and countries.  If you use LinkedIn.com you can also have your colleagues and clients write personal references for you.  Also, gone are the days of printing off you résumé, on just the right paper, putting it into a matching envelope with your accompanying cover letter, scrounging for a stamp and putting it in the mail. We can now attach or resumes easily in any format and include cover letters in the email body.  How much in  easier can it be.  All of these “technology touch points” are great and really do not cut down on the human interaction factor.

So, where does the disconnect come in?  Local job searches.  I can understand receiving an email from a company in another state requesting to set-up a phone interview.  That is the most efficient and cost-effective method.  It would be a bit time-consuming and costly to fly 30 applicants to you for a first interview.  But local companies?  Really? I have received multiple responses to resumes I have sent out to companies within 25 miles of my home.  All of them have sent emails requesting phone interviews.  In some cases, I have had multiple phone interviews.  Now granted, this is nice from the stand point that I can interview in my pajamas and bunny slippers, but not as effective as an in-person interview.  There are can even automated phone interview services.  Some of these services even offer video services.  In the latter case, I would have to ditch the pajama top for something a bit more professional, but the bunny slippers would be fine.

SayHired.com

SynergyHire.com

ActiveInterview.com

Again, let me reiterate, this is a great way to go for out-of-town interviews.  But, there is a great deal lost for both sides.  We are forgetting the ever-present body language.  It is difficult from the perspective of the interviewees to fully engage the interviewer.  For me this is key.  My personality is not just a phone voice, unless of course that is the job I am applying for.  For the interviewer, how do you pick up on sincerity, knowledge (I could have a lot of notes in front of me), engagement and so many other nuances.  If you are local, invite the candidate in for an interview.  It may take only 5 minutes, but will be well worth the time.  As the potential candidate, I feel that I am then able to give you my all, the entire package.